Current Research Group

Steven Barrett's research group is part of the MIT Laboratory for Aviation and the Environment.

Current Visitors and Research Affiliates 

Group Alumni/ae

The below list includes most of Professor Barrett's former research advisees, including former graduate students (SM, PhD), postdoctoral associates/fellows, and research scientists at MIT unless noted otherwise. Former undergraduate research advisees are not included.


  • Dr. Pooya Azadi (former postdoc), Stanford University
  • Dr. Irene Dedoussi (former SM, PhD, postdoc), TU Delft
  • Prof. Robert Malina (former resesarch scientist), Hasselt University
  • Dr. Hakan Olcay (former postdoc), Hasselt University 
  • Dr. Marc Stettler (former Cambridge PhD), Imperial College London
  • Prof. Shao-Yi Lee (former SMART postdoc), Sun Yat-sen University
  • Prof. Steve Yim (former postdoc, research scientist), Chinese University of Hong Kong

Continuing Education

  • Albert Gnadt (former SM), MIT
  • Lawrence Wong (former SM), MIT


  • Luis Alvarez (former SM), MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Kingshuk Dasadhikari (former SM), MHI
  • Andrew Dexter (former SM), GE Aviation
  • Dr. Hossam El-Asrag (former postdoc), Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Dr. Chris Gilmore (former SM, PhD, postdoc), RAND
  • Rohit Goyal (former Harvard MEng), Uber
  • Cooper Hennick (former SM), SpaceX
  • Dr. Kento Masuyama (former SM), Amazon
  • Cassandra Miller (former SM), GE Aviation
  • Nicholas Simone (former SM), GE Aviation
  • Pooja Suresh (former SM), Gastops
  • Juju (Zhishen) Wang (former SM), Makani

Energy and Environment

  • Dr. Akshay Ashok (former PhD, postdoc), Ramboll Environ
  • Cassandra Rosen (former SM), ICF
  • Dr. Carolina Rojo (former postdoc), Meteologica S.A.
  • Dr. Mark Staples (former SM, PhD, postdoc, research scientist), Shell

Software, Data Science, and AI

  • Bogdan Constantin (former SM), ENTER BV
  • Luke Kulik (former SM), Waymo
  • In-Hwan Lee (former SM), MathWorks
  • Dr. Stéphane Mangeon (former SMART postdoc), CSIRO

Other Engineering

  • Jacob Ames (former SM), Hawk Ridge Systems
  • Mitch Withers (former SM), Micron Technology

National Service

  • Seamus Bann (former SM), U.S. Army
  • Nicholas Carter (former SM), U.S. Air Force
  • Liam Comidy (former SM), U.S. Army
  • Dr. Philip J. Wolfe (former PhD, postdoc), U.S. Department of State


  • Parthsarathi Trivedi (former SM), Skylo
  • Drew Weibel (former SM), FGC Plasma Solutions


  • Dr. Fabio Caiazzo (former PhD, postdoc), BCG


  • Dr. Uven Chong (former Cambridge PhD), Ropes & Gray LLP
  • Jamin Koo (former SM), Covington & Burling LLP
  • Gideon Lee (former SM), Tala
  • Dr. Gonca Seber (former visiting scientist)